EGIT 543: Operation Management
   
Course objectives The objective of this course is to provide students with an understanding of Operations Management and the role that it plays within an organization. By the end of the course, you should have developed an appreciation for the challenges in providing world-class products and services and the ability to use some analytical tools and conceptual frameworks to guide your thinking about operations. Accordingly, you should leave this
course able to: 
  • Integrate operational perspectives into a successful business model
  • Analyze key business processes
  • Understand how variability impacts processes
  • Rigorously improve business processes (including identifying the likely impact of
    information technology)
  • Discuss some recent operations trends at a high level.

Course introduction on youtube.

   
Text

Operation Management (2nd ed.): William J. Stevenson and Chee Chuong Sum, Asia Global Edition, ISBN:978-1-259-00799-6

   
Class hours

Saturday 09.00-12.00

   
Instructors
Sotarat Thammaboosadee, Ph.D.
Office: R308
Line: zotarutto
e-mail: zotarat@gmail.com
Office Hours: Wed. 10.00-16.00 / Fri. 10.00-18.00 / Sat. 13.00-16.00 or kindly appoint
 


Tentative Course Schedule
Week Date Lectures Materials Assignments Excel Template
1 Saturday, 23-Aug 2014

Introduction to Operation Management

Slide-ch1

HW01-Experiential

HW02-Memo

 
2 Saturday, 30-Aug 2014 Competitiveness strategy Productivity Slide-ch2
Additional-ch2
HW03-Review
HW04-Memo
XLS-Productivity
3 Saturday, 06-Sep 2014 Forecasting (e-learning) Slide-ch3 XLS-Forecasting
  Saturday, 13-Sep 2014 ---Cancelled---      
4 Saturday, 20-Sep 2014

Product and Service Design

Slide-ch4
Slide-ch4s
HW05-Experiential XLS-Reliability
5 Saturday, 27-Sep 2014 Strategic Capacity Planning for Production and Services Slide-ch5   XLS-Capacity
6 Saturday, 4-Oct 2014 Process Selection (e-Learning) Slide-ch6   XLS-LineBalancing
7 Saturday, 11-Oct 2014 Design of Work Systems Slide-ch7    
  Saturday, 18-Oct 2014 Midterm   ***Score***  
8 Saturday, 25-Oct 2014 ---Cancelled---      
9 Saturday, 01-Nov 2014 Management of Quality Slide-ch9

HW06-Review

HW06-คำอธิบาย(คลิปเสียง)

 
10 Saturday, 08-Nov 2014 Aggregate Planning

Slide-ch13

Example-ch13

HW07-Review

HW08-Memo

XLS-AggregatePlanning
11 Saturday, 15-Nov 2014 ---Cancelled---      
12 Saturday, 22-Nov 2014 JIT and Lean Operations Slide-ch15    
13 Saturday, 29-Nov 2014 Scheduling Slide-ch16    
14 Saturday, 06-Dec 2014 Project Management Slide-ch17    
  Saturday, 13-Dec 2014 ----Final Examination----  


Grading

Midterm Exam 30%
Final Exam 30%
Assignments 30%
Discussion 10%
Total 100%

Grading Procedures:

Assignments: Assignments will be graded on the +/ok/- scale, where + indicates excellent, ok indicates satisfactory, and - indicates needs improvement. Assignments will be given each selected class. Your solutions to these assignments are your way of telling the instructor about your mastery of this course. Your solutions must be clearly different than those turned in by others in the class and represent a unique and special effort on your part.

Assignment Submission: The deadline of each assignment is set to a week after an assign date, submitted to zotarat@gmail.com. The email must has a subject likes "HW01-5637xxx". The submitted assignment MUST be in PDF file. Late assignments will not be accepted.